Virtual Unconference on Open Scholarship Practices in Education Research

February 8-9, 2021

The first annual unconference addressing open scholarship for education research.

The 2021 unconference featured participant-led sessions analyzing the current state of open scholarship practice and interactive hackathons seeking solutions to identified problems. Participants assessed barriers to adoption of open scholarship practices unique to the education community and brainstormed strategies for promoting greater awareness.

The unconference included engaging plenary sessions to orient attendees to open scholarship and introduce tools and best practices for open research in education. Deep dives into key principles of open scholarship provided detailed guidance for education researchers.

Event Details

Links to all unconference information and resources are available here. To view the full unconference schedule of events, please visit

Questions? Contact Marcy Reedy at

Unconference Highlights and Speakers

Willa Van Dijk

Deep Dive into Open Scholarship: Data, Materials, and Code Transparency
Willa Van Dijk

In this deep dive session, I discussed how transparency with data, materials, and code is beneficial for educational research and education researchers. I illustrated these points by sharing experiences with transparency that were crucial to my success. I then shifted gears and provided tips and tricks for planning a new research project with transparency in mind, including attention to potential pitfalls, and also discuss adapting materials from previous projects to share.

montoya and rambo hernandezDeep Dive into Open Scholarship: Preregistration and Registered Reports
Amanda Montoya and Karen Rambo-Hernandez

In this deep dive session, we introduced the basics of pre-registration and registered reports: two methods for creating a permanent record of a research plan prior to conducting data collection. We discussed the conceptual similarities and practical differences between pre-registration and registered reports. We provided some practical advice from our own experiences using these practices in our own research labs and resources available for researchers interested in using these approaches. Finally, we ended with questions and discussion about adopting these practices and unique considerations for implementing these practices in education research.  

shaw and cookDeep Dive into Open Scholarship: Preprints and OA
Stacy Shaw and Bryan Cook

In this deep dive session, we discussed the current model of scholarly publishing, and highlighted the challenges and limitations of this model of research dissemination. We then focused on the value of open access and elaborated on different open access levels (Gold, Bronze, and Green), before discussing how preprints/postprints may be leveraged to promote open access.

makel_miller_peters_carterDeep Dive into Open Scholarship: Collaboration and Replication
Matt Makel, Erin Miller, Scott Peters, Jay Carter

This deep dive session on replications and large-scale collaborations introduced a glossary of relevant terms, the problems these initiatives address, and some tools to get started. We started with content knowledge transfer but switched to more interactive conversation for Q&A and conversation.

plenary session_thumbClosing Plenary Session | The Future of Open Science in Educational Research: an ECR Perspective
Jesse Fleming and Sarah Wilson

For this session, we discussed the transformative power of open science, the barriers we must overcome as a field, and what each researcher can do today to improve the credibility and transparency of science. We also discussed major takeaways from the conference aimed at leaving each participant with a renewed enthusiasm to implement open science within the field of education.

Participants were invited to lead or attend:

Unconference Sessions

Group discussions designed to reach consensus on a topic or generate a plan of action.


Hands on lessons that left attendees with resources to use and apply.


Participants worked together on a defined task for one to three hours (letter writing campaigns, creating syllabi, designing studies, and proposals).

Lightning Talks

Presentations on a topic in five minutes or less.

Advisory Committee:

Katie Corker, Grand Valley State University
Colleen Ganley, Florida State University
Matthew Makel, Duke University
Betsy Mccoach, University of Connecticut
Erin Miller, Bridgewater College
Amanda Kay Montoya, University of California, Los Angeles
Scott Peters, University of Wisconsin – Whitewater
Karen Rambo-Hernandez: Texas A&M University